Bloggity Blog Blog Blog…

August 5, 2008

Blog?!

Filed under: Uncategorized — thirdxlucky @ 9:47 pm
Tags:

Blog!

New blog. ‘Cause, y’know, I don’t have enough blogs. But this one is going to be just for friends. Not in the sense that it’ll be private or locked or anything, just that I won’t link it anywhere very public or give the address out to people I don’t know. But please feel free to share it with any friends and family who want to keep in touch.

I feel like the tone of frozenfoxtale changed a lot when it got lj-spotlighted and overrun by friendly strangers with questions about penguins. Don’t get me wrong – I feel very fortunate that so many random people enjoy reading my scribbles. It motivates me to write, feeds my ego, and I fully intend to keep updating over there with Informative Posts About the Antarctic Experience Illustrated by Other Peoples’ Photography.

The problem is the change in tone necessary to appeal to a broader audience made my posts more impersonal. I feel like that, plus the influx of comments, made the journal less accessible to people who actually knew and cared about me. In gaining an ‘audience,’ I lost a space to connect with far-away friends, to share what I’m up to and what’s really on my mind – regardless of whether it’s related to penguins or is appropriate for/interesting to grandparents. And while Facebook is nice ‘n’ all, it’s fairly static. There’s only so much communication you can have via Scramble.

Nor will this be the blog-qua-participation-in-politically-active-online-community that I tried to start at the beginning of the summer. Hopefully that one will come into being eventually, and this one may end up containing formative elements of it (as does frozenfoxtale, since I can’t just NOT talk about politics at all), but I want to keep this space a little closer to me than that I intend with that one. This is for you and me.

The best thing I’ve gotten out of my time spent at home has been the feeling of becoming really tied into a community of loved ones that I want to commit to and maintain strong connections with. I have some conflicted feelings about going to Antarctica because of this – but, nevertheless, I’m going. Meanwhile, many of you are also departing for various far-flung corners of the globe (or live there already.) However, I have huge faith in the power of the internet – and of personal blogs specifically – to extend the day-to-day life of relationships across great distances. It’s not nearly as good as sharing a pizza, a cigarette or a hug. But it’s better than a lot of things.

Why not just e-mail, write letters or post-cards, make phone calls, or send carepackages? I’m going to do all those things, and hope you will as well. But I’m blogging too. And hope you will as well.

Thus: Blog!

Blog, meet friends.

Friends, meet blog.

If you want to know what I’m up to lately, read away. If you see your name in the blogroll to the right, that’s because I am keeping up with you. If you have a blog, Flickr page, or other regularly updated online presence that you don’t see listed, let me know where it is so that I can add it!

How many more times can I say ‘blog’ in this post? Blog. Blog. Blog. Blog. Blog blog blog blog blog. Blog!

Blog.

(*Oh yeah, and I finally bit the bullet and moved to WordPress, which should make Ashvin happy. I haven’t had time to play with it much yet, but still, it’s so pretty!)

1 Comment »

  1. Yay! Welcome to blogospherical blogtopic blogland. And WordPress! yaaay!

    Comment by violet — August 7, 2008 @ 9:54 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

