Bloggity Blog Blog Blog…

January 26, 2009

Link Smorgasbord

Filed under: Uncategorized — thirdxlucky @ 9:55 pm

Okay, fuck it. I’m just going to start writing stuff here.

I’m transitioning back to Nightshift. This time, it’s wreaking havoc with my body temperature for some reason. Sometimes, I’m colder than usual; other times, I’m sweating. I never sweat down here unless I’m working out. Right now, I’m sitting in the Computer Kiosk in a tank top. The fact that I’m also on my period, getting over a cold, and chronically sleep-deprived are probably all contributing factors. Still, this is weird.

Every time I transition, I get all excited because it means an extra day off. I make big plans for all the things I’m going to read and write, e-mails I’ll catch up on, scribblings that I’ll distill into blog posts, videos I’ll finally watch and articles I’ll read more thoroughly. I forget that the reason we get a Transition Day is because suddenly doing an 180° pirouette through your circadian rhythms tends to turn the brain into zombie-goo. That’s a technical term. Keri says she got so used to it, being a nurse, that she can switch shifts on the spot now with no need for readjustment time. I’m not quite there yet. Still, it’s been easier this time than last. I’ve blasted my digestive system with slightly less caffeiene and I feel ready to function at work tomorrow.

I did spend about five hours today gorging myself on many of the blog posts and extended tendrils of bloggification that I’ve been trying but failing to sneak in behind my boss’s back at work. I want to, like, say stuff about them, since participating in the dialogue is largely the point of having a (or, at least, this) blog… But 1) I’m not sure how much I retained enough to respond to with any clarity and B) the sense I’m getting is that I’m still in a space where, especially around issues of racism, colonialism, violence, and cultural appropriation (which is primarily what I’ve been immersing myself in), what I need to be doing most right now is sitting quietly and listening.

So, for the time being, I’m just going to post a jumbled load of links here that I’ve been e-mailing myself or otherwise collecting over the past several weeks – posts I found interesting, eye-opening, clarifying, helpful or painful; essays I want to read or re-read when I’m more coherent; artists, musicians, authors, bloggers, publications I was drawn to or made curious about; incomplete conversations that I want to keep following; things I’m not sure what to think about; sites and spaces that I’d like to explore more fully. This is mostly to keep all of this stuff in one place for myself, but if anyone else is reading this and finds any of these links helpful, interesting, or clickworthy themselves, sweet. If you have other links you’d like to point me at, even sweeter!

Linkitty Link Link Links…

What is Cultural Appropriation – conversation on The Angry Black Woman.

Should We Burn Babar? – Blurb on a book about the political aspects of children’s literature.

“Politically iffy books and growing up just fine” – LJ post on Twilight and gender politics, problematic literature, “the best remedy for bad speech is more speech.”

Media Assassin – Harry Allen’s blog
Wikipedia: Harry Allen (journalist) – “Harry Allen is a hip hop activist and journalist affiliated with the legendary group Public Enemy, and is the director of the Rhythm Cultural Institute.”

“Leaders of the New Cool” – Complex Magazine’s issue on “Hipster Rap”.
(Jay Smooth’s video on hipster rap. I really liked this..)

Incredible Juju – Sparkle’s blog, via comments on flipfloppingjoy.

PostBourgie – “is a running, semi-orderly conversation about class and politics and media and gender and whatever else we can think of.”

make/shift: feminisms in motion – Magazine started by Jessica Hoffman (bfp’s collaborator on (re)thinking walking).

(re)thinking walking – at www.flipfloppingjoy.com. This project has been blowing my mind in a really amazing way and I’m so excited about its future.

How Not to Be Insane When Accused of Racism (A Guide for White People) – by Ampersand on Alas! A blog.

RWOC Theorists PT 7: Paula X. Rojas – Rojas’ essay on radical organizing, “Are the Cops in Our Heads and Our Hearts?”

Self-Care and Activist Burnout – at Angry Black-White Girl

Stuff White People Do – “I’m a white guy, trying to find out what that means. Especially the “white” part.” White Weekend Links.

Waking Up – “So, I’m starting this blog to talk about my experience in navigating this world as someone who is white, queer and trans. … I want to share my experiences in recognizing my own privilege.”

Flooring and Whoring: sex, drugs, and construction. in your face. – “This is a place a needed to make to write about all the shit I think about – mainly the sex industry and my involvement in it, various sorts of anti-oppression/not-being-an-asshole-ism, and my on and off employment in random construction trades.”

Sixteen Maneuvers to Avoid Really Dealing with Racism – on Feministe. Read this a long time ago, just stumbled across it again, want to keep it somewhere accessible for regular rereading. Really helpful and great comment thread. Also my first exposure to…

Nezua’s Wite-Magik Attax – at The Unapologetic Mexican.

“I’d Rather Be a Whore Than an Academic – written by anonymous PhD’d sex worker.

“The White Liberal Conundrum” – essay on white liberal politics and radical anti-racism, with lots of good links to resources. Including…

Preview of Coming Attractions – “Some days you about claw your own eyes out trying to put that [white] lens back on. Like a relationship you know is no good for you that you nonetheless return to occasionally for familiarity, for comfort, or for sex, so is that lens. But you can’t revive that dead relationship and you can’t seem to make that lens grow back to its original size, either.”

Restructure! – I don’t actually know what this blog is yet, but now I want to. Primarily because of this: “How Whites Benefit from Fighting White Privilege pt. 1”

826 Valencia – Super awesome non-profit writing center founded in San Francisco dedicated to helping and encouraging school-age kids with their writing.
826 National – And their national organization.

Writer’s Series – UIC Chicago’s not-for-credit online writing seminars.

The Grant Institute – Los Angeles grantwriting seminar.

Academic Ronin – “Commentary on and resources for independent scholarship.”

I’m not entirely sure how trackbacks work and I should have been in bed half-an-hour ago, so I’ll come back and sort that out tomorrow.

Meanwhile, I have been playing a fun game with Facebook where, whenever ads related to weight loss appear in my pop-up bar, I tag them as “Offensive”. I started doing this just because I was sick of having all these weird, triggery, “let me seductively reveal my perfectly flat, white belly for you” pictures in my peripheral vision while I was just trying to read about my friends having the caffeine jitters, or breaking up with their boyfriends, or getting kitties.

But it’s been interesting to see Facebook’s response to this – at first, I started getting wedding-related ads instead. When I tagged those “Irrelevant,” I got ads for “Curious? Hot Girl on Girl Action!” type “dating” sites instead. “Offensive.” This got me ads for Gay Marriage Rights t-shirts, Gay Cruise vacations, and…AC/DC. I wonder how many times and how vigilantly I’d have to downgrade ads to get them to stop giving me gender/sexuality-targeted ads, period.

It’s probably impossible. If I go a few days without clicking, Facebook starts spamming me with eleven different kinds of weight-loss products again. But for the time being, they’re just trying to sell me a Blackberry…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

