Bloggity Blog Blog Blog…

April 17, 2009

The Super-Condensed Version!

Filed under: Uncategorized — thirdxlucky @ 3:12 am

Hey! You took your piercings out. How come?

Mm, I got them a long time ago and I’m not exactly sure why I have them. They’re cute but I’m concerned about cultural appropriation. I’m not sure my reasons ARE appropriative, but I’m also not sure they’re NOT. I need to think about it, so I’m taking them out while I think.

If you think about it for too long, they might close up…

True.


I have to say, it’s nice being able to scratch my nose without stabbing myself in the nasal membrane! You’d think, after six years, I’d have figured that one out, but apparently not… 😛

2 Comments »

  1. No more 寿司, then? :-p

    More seriously, this reminds me of something I’ve been meaning to write, of which the super-condensed version is: I, personally, am okay with a lot of things that some other Indians consider cultural appropriation. I don’t know where that leaves me. (It also doesn’t seem to me that intent matters when we’re talking about how something feels).

    Comment by violet — May 10, 2009 @ 6:47 am | Reply

  2. > No more 寿司, then? :-p

    Hehe. Food’s a really sticky one, huh? On the one hand, eating sushi – especially deep-fried with special sauce and cream cheese – or, say, Chinese takeout with chopsticks…almost definitely cultural appropriation. On the other hand, if attempting to avoid cultural appropriation means me eating nothing but Irish food, well, I’m gonna starve. 😉

    I suspect the balance lies not in categorically denying myself all manner of deliciousness until I freak out and binge, but somewhere in becoming more conscious about the food I eat, where and how I eat it, and the relationship between that and white supremacist American consumer culture…while simultaneously trying not to fall into to the “eating ‘exotic’ food in an ‘authentic’ way makes me a Good White Person” trap…(and balancing a stack of hamburgers on my head at the same time!)

    Ultimately, this probably means cooking a lot more. Possibly some Irish food. 😛

    > I, personally, am okay with a lot of things that some other Indians consider cultural appropriation. I don’t know where that leaves me.

    Yeah, I sort of knew – or at least had an inkling of – this thing, and I obviously thought about you while I was writing this. ( * hug * ) I also thought about the fact that “But one of my best friends is Indian!” is, y’know, a Bingo square.

    And that, when we’re talking about the dilution of a symbol’s affective power within a broader social context (or, more saliently, about people having to encounter stolen pieces of their cultures on the street and feeling punched in the gut), intent – no matter how “pure” – is most often invisible and thus arguably irrelevant.

    (I don’t think this means intent is totally meaningless. I feel pretty much at peace with the fact that there is kanji in my memorial tattoo for Billy. Still, I don’t feel entitled to display it without context.)

    I think I’ve let this comment get longer than my original post…

    Comment by thirdxlucky — May 10, 2009 @ 6:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

