Bloggity Blog Blog Blog…

April 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — thirdxlucky @ 3:20 am

We just celebrated my Dad’s 60th birthday. Check out my brother’s birthday toast:

To my father, D, who has been and continues to be an inspiration to us all: May you be buried in a cask of Hundred Year Oak – and may we plant that tree together tomorrow.

My brother, ladies and gentlemen. What a suave motherfucker.

Then we all got to sit down and have the, “So, now that I’m 60, I should probably start talking to you all about what happens when I die” family meeting. It’s an important conversation to have and I’m glad he’s thinking about it, still, depressing. He and my step-Mom keep making those uncomfortable jokes like, “Well, at least you’ll have some inheritance – unless we live to be 95!” and all us kids are just sitting there grimacing like…Jesus! Live to be a hundred. You can move in with us. We’ll support you. Seriously. Quit joking about this shit.

I love my Dad. It’s true that he’s an inspiration. I realized, as we were walking around the Farmer’s Market today picking out veggies for dinner, that my father does not have an iconoclastic bone in his body – but he has a moral compass that answers to no one. The man has got integrity. Which is an important quality for any aspiring icon-breaker to emulate. (The iconoclasm itself I probably get from my crazy mother. One of the many hereditary gifts – including some madness, itself – that I might appreciate more if I didn’t associate them with having to wrangle my crazy mother.) My Dad and I probably disagree about almost everything but I still want to be like him when I grow up.

He and my step-mom want to be cremated and have the ashes spread in their garden.

Happy Birthday, Dad. Here’s to 95 and beyond.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

