Bloggity Blog Blog Blog…

July 8, 2010

Write Yer Mom

Filed under: Uncategorized — thirdxlucky @ 12:15 pm

I’m thinking about the World Cup. Of all things. I finally watched the Write the Future ad. 18,904,175 views. Goddamn.

Nothing like World Cup Football frenzy to make a little American girl feel isolated from the rest of the entire fuckin’ planet. I have a couple of friends who are in Germany right now. Another friend who was in Germany for the 2006 World Cup, when it was actually being hosted there. It must be a crazy time to be in Europe. Or, well, anywhere else on the fuckin’ planet besides North America. (Are the Canadians into soccer*?)

715.1 million individuals watched the final match of [the 2006] tournament (a ninth of the entire population of the planet).

You ever get the feeling that you live in a giant climate-controlled bubble? Sure, considering how many awful things are happening to people the world over every day, it’s kinda fucked up to feel connected to (or disconnected from) the rest of humanity on the basis of a massively marketed sporting event. Still, this is something that’s important to one in nine human beings. That’s a thing. That matters.

I remember when the final Harry Potter book was released. I was in Uganda and I went to a whole lot of trouble to get my hands on a copy the day it came out. Not as much trouble as some people; I met a couple of aid workers at a hostel in Kampala who were actually taking a weekend off and traveling overland to Nairobi to meet up with some friends who were bringing them a copy from America. When I finished reading mine, I gave it to an English girl in Dar-es-Salaam, who had seen me with it on the street and squealed in disbelief. “Is that…Ohmigod. Where did you get it?! Is it good!? WAIT! Don’t tell me anything! Don’t say anything at all!” In Cape Town, I would pass South Africans reading the book on park benches and ask them, with no other introduction, what chapter they were on. We’d smile and laugh together. And I remember thinking, “It’s just a stupid children’s book with a fantastic marketing team…and yet this may be the last time in my life I’ll feel this universally connected to humanity for any reason that doesn’t involve a lot of innocent people dying.”

But one in nine people gets to feel that way every four years. Goddamn.

I won’t go so far as to say, “I love America.” I don’t own a flag. But I do love certain things about American culture and about being an American and what that means. This is my home and I’m happy to be home for a while. But I still want to expatriate. For a few years, at least. Stuff like the World Cup and my culturally-induced failure to really get it reminds me why.

Yeah. My thoughts on this are totally inarticulate.

…2014 in Brazil?

* Incidentally, I went to type this phrase into Google and the first thing that came up in the most common search suggestions: “Are vampires real?” Ever feel like you live in a giant climate-controlled bubble full of morons?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

